Back to All Events

Reading: Jenny Zhang with Saskia Vogel

  • KN: Raum für Kunst im Kontext 68 Skalitzer Straße Berlin, Berlin, 10997 Germany (map)

The Berlin Writers' Workshop presents a reading by Jenny Zhang and Saskia Vogel.

We're pleased to welcome Jenny Zhang for the Berlin launch of Sour Heart (Penguin Random House, 2017), "a sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City—for readers of Zadie Smith, Helen Oyeyemi, and Junot Díaz." Zhang will read with Berlin-based writer and translator Saskia Vogel.

About the authors:

Jenny Zhang was born in Shanghai and raised in Queens. She is the author of the poetry collection Dear Jenny, We Are All Find, the non-fiction chapbook Hags, the e-book The Selected Jenny Zhang, and the forthcoming short-story collection Sour Heart. Her essay "How It Feels" was nominated for a National Magazine Award in 2015. She holds degrees from Stanford University and the Iowa Writers' Workshop.

Saskia Vogel is from Los Angeles and lives in Berlin, where she works as a writer and Swedish-to-English literary translator. She has written on the themes of gender, power, and sexuality for publications such as Granta, The Paris Review Daily, The White Review, Sight&Sound, The Offing, and The Quietus. Previously, she worked in London as Granta magazine’s global publicist and in Los Angeles as an editor at the AVN Media Network, where she reported on the business of pornography and adult pleasure products.
 

Advance praise for Sour Heart:

“As I read, I quickly realized that this was something so new and powerful that it would come to shape the world—not just the literary world, but what we know about reality. Zhang’s version of honesty goes way past the familiar, with passages that burst into bold, startling, brilliance. Get ready.”—Miranda July

The reading is in English. Free entry. Cash bar.

Location: 
KN: Raum für Kunst im Kontext
Skalitzer Straße 68, zweites Hinterhaus, zweite Etage
Berlin, Germany 10997

Later Event: September 23
The Free MFA Master Class